Attention NT Profs: Times Have Changed…You Have More Work To Do

一位已故的資深新約神學院教授(David Scholer)談論哲學/神學詮釋學對於正確研經的重要:
« Twenty years ago when I started teaching my course on women in ministry in the New Testament I thought my whole responsibility was to do exegesis. Today when I teach my course, I know that I need to talk deeply about hermeneutics, about the history of the Church, about the character of God and about human sexuality before it is possible to do anything resembling exegesis on the question of men and women in the Church. »
« [T]that just hashing out viewpoints and potential historical background of debated texts was not going to settle the matter or provide serious traction in the debate. He came to realize that seminary students need training in, not only the backgrounds and grammatical study of Scripture, but also the philosophy of interpretation and hermeneutics. »

Crux Sola

I have been admiring, as of late, the scholarly work of David Scholer. Today I found particularly interesting his comment, made in a 1988 article, on how times had changed for how he taught NT courses to seminary students. As a bit of background to this article, before getting to a key quote, Scholer was reflecting on his journey of defending women in ministry as a legitimate Christian perspective. Scholer came to understand, over several decades of Biblical interpretation, that just hashing out viewpoints and potential historical background of debated texts was not going to settle the matter or provide serious traction in the debate. He came to realize that seminary students need training in, not only the backgrounds and grammatical study of Scripture, but also the philosophy of interpretation and hermeneutics. Here is what Scholer writes (again, over two decades ago)

Twenty years ago when I started teaching my…

View original post 360 mots de plus

Poster un commentaire 我有話說

